April 2021

Hostile Terrain 94

Exhibition in the former police prison Klapperfeld

Hostile Terrain 94 is a global pop-up Exhibition about America’s Humanitarian Crisis at the Southern Border. The project aims to raise awareness about the realities of the U.S./Mexico border, including the death and suffering that have been happening daily due to the Border Patrol policy known as “Prevention Through Deterrence” (PTD). It is a participatory art venture organized by the Undocumented Migration Project (UMP), a non-profit research-art-education-media collective, which documents fatalities since 2009, directed by the anthropologist Jason de León.

The exhibition, shown in more than 150 locations worldwide (see list of hosting partners), is a participatory, democratic, and inexpensive public display. In the various localities, communities, activists, and scholars will adapt the display and assemble a plurality of perspectives.

In Frankfurt, the scope of the exhibition will be enhanced to demonstrate how different border policies affect and transform the policies in other regions. Against the backdrop of the 2015/2016 ‘refugee crisis,’ the Frankfurt at the Main (FFM) exhibition will host additional visual and audio-visual materials presenting perspectives of border dwellers and crossers, artists and activists from Afghanistan, Iran, Turkey, and Europe (see list of contributors). Here, the urgent question of the global humanitarian crisis, border control, and living at and with borders will be addressed.

The autonomously governed cultural center Klapperfeld, a former Gestapo and deportation prison, provides a unique, emblematic place for this project by linking the external to the internal (historical) borders and the respective crises and struggles.

April 2021

Hostile Terrain 94

Ausstellung im ehemaligen Polizeigefängnis Klapperfeld

Hostile Terrain 94 (HT94) ist eine globale Pop-up-Ausstellung über die humanitäre Krise an der südlichen Grenze der Vereinigten Staaten. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, ein Bewusstsein für die Realitäten an der Grenze zwischen den USA und Mexiko zu schaffen, einschließlich von Tod und Leid aufgrund der als »Prevention Through Deterrence« (Prävention durch Abschreckung, PTD) bekannten Grenzpolitik. Bei HT94 handelt es sich um ein partizipatorisches Projekt, des Undocumented Migration Project (UMP), einem gemeinnützigen Forschungs-, Kunst-, Bildungs- und Medienkollektiv, das seit 2009 unter der Leitung des Anthropologen Jason de León Todesfälle dokumentiert.

Die Ausstellung, die an mehr als 150 Orten weltweit gezeigt wird (siehe Liste der gastgebenden Partner), ist eine demokratische, finanzierbare und partizipative, öffentliche Ausstellung. Vor Ort sind jeweils unterschiedliche gesellschaftliche Gruppen, Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen in die Ausstellungen involviert und bringen jeweils ihre Perspektiven in das Projekt ein.

In Frankfurt wird der Umfang der Ausstellung erweitert und gezeigt, wie Grenzpolitiken unterschiedliche Regionen beeinflussen und verändern. Vor dem Hintergrund der »Flüchtlingskrise« 2015/2016 werden in Frankfurt/Main zusätzliche Arbeiten zu sehen sein, die Perspektiven von Grenzbewohner*innen und Grenzgängern*innen, Künstlern*innen und Aktivisten aus Afghanistan, Iran, der Türkei und der EU präsentieren (siehe Liste der Mitwirkenden). Dabei wird die drängende Frage nach der globalen humanitären Krise sowie nach dem Alltagsleben an und mit Grenzen thematisiert.

Das selbstverwaltete Kulturzentrum Klapperfeld, ein ehemaliges Gestapo- und Abschiebegefängnis, bietet einen einzigartigen Ort für dieses Projekt, an dem sich die äußeren mit den inneren (historischen) Grenzen und den jeweiligen Krisen und Kämpfen verknüpfen lassen.